Sunfloursweets's Blog

11/09/2009

Chicken Tetrazzini

Filed under: Uncategorized — sunfloursweets @ 6:15 pm

I can hardly keep up with all of the desserts I have been making lately so I have decided to post my chicken tetrazzini recipe this week.  In a few weeks, I will be spending some time making pies for Thanksgiving and cookies and candy for Christmas, so its time for a break from dessert!  I began making this recipe when I was in high school and the first time I made it, my family loved it.  Heavy whipping cream, butter, parmesan cheese- what could be better?  It is a very heavy, filling dinner, so have a light salad along with it. 

When I make this recipe #1 I make it x2 because everyone always loves it and wants more  and #2 I cook extra chicken to use in other things such as tacos, enchiladas, etc.  And of course, I add more cheese.  The recipe calls for 1/2 c. grated parmesan cheese to sprinkle over the top.  I mix about 1/2 c. parmesan cheese into the noodles before I spoon it into the casserole dish.  That is just my preference; it is delicious without it as well. 

This is great to freeze!  Just skip the step on baking it in the oven and freeze it instead.  It does take a while to thaw after it has been frozen, so plan some time for that before baking it! 

Chicken Tetrazzini

  • 7 oz. spaghetti or fettucini noodles
  • 1/4 c. butter
  • 1/4 c. flour
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1/4 t pepper
  • 1 c. chicken broth
  • 1 c. heavy whipping cream
  • 2 T chicken broth
  • 2 c. chicken- cooked & cubed
  • 1 (4 oz) can mushrooms, drained
  • 1/2 c. grated parmesan cheese

Heat oven to 350 degrees.  Cook spaghetti and drain.  Melt margarine in saucepan over low heat.  Stir in flour, salt & pepper.  Cook, stirring constantly until smooth and bubbly.  Remove from heat.  Stir in broth and whipping cream.  Heat to boiling, stirring constantly.  Boil and stir 1 minute.  Stir in 2 T chicken broth, noodles, chicken and mushrooms.  Spoon into greased 2 qt. casserole dish.  Sprinkle with cheese.  Bake uncovered about 30 minutes or until bubbly in the center.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

