Sunfloursweets's Blog

10/25/2009

Bierocks

Filed under: Uncategorized — sunfloursweets @ 3:47 pm

Sharing with you a little of my German heritage this week.  My grandpa’s parents came to the U.S. from Germany and although I haven’t had a lot of the German culture passed down to me, I have taken it upon myself to learn how to make bierocks.  Some people think they are really time-consuming and that scares them away from attempting to make them.  While I admit that my first time making them was time consuming (and didn’t turn out too well), I don’t feel that they take too long anymore.  I believe this recipe yields 12-15 bierocks, which for me is 12-15 meals.  So if you look at the time it takes to make these bierocks versus the time it takes to make 12 different meals for yourself instead, you will find that it is NOT time consuming!  Of course, true German bierocks don’t have cheese in them.  MY Americanized bierocks do because I think cheese is one of the best things God has created! 

In my first time making these, I used the Rhodes frozen bread dough loaves instead of making my own dough.  While this has worked for my mother, it did not work for me.  I couldn’t get the edges of the dough to stick together when I was assembling each bierock.  For the filling, I basically took two different recipes and added what I love about each of them.  If you start making bierocks 4 or 5 times a year like I have, then  you will find your own version that works best for you; this recipe will definitely get you started though! 

P.S.   Since I am usually only cooking for myself, I let the bierocks cool, wrap them up individually in foil and freeze them.  GREAT to take to work for a quick lunch.  Grab one out of the freezer, pop it in the microwave for 2 minutes, and you will have a quick and effortless meal! 

Bierocks

  • 1 (25 oz) pkg active dry yeast
  • 1/2 c. white sugar
  • 2 c. warm water
  • 4 c. all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 c. milk
  • 1 1/2 t. baking powder
  • 1/2 c. shortening
  • 1 1/2 lb hamburger
  • 1/2  c. onion, chopped
  • 1/2 pkg onion soup mix
  • 3 T. prepared mustard
  • 3/4 c. processed American cheese, cubed
  • 1/2 c. shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1 1/2 t. salt
  • 2 t. black pepper
  • 1 pkg shredded cabbage

To make dough: In a medium bowl combine the yeast, sugar and water and stir together; let stand 10 minutes. Stir in flour, milk, baking powder and shortening, then knead mixture for 10 minutes adding as little flour as necessary.  Cover bowl with a damp cloth and let rise in a warm place for about 1 hour. 

To make filling: Brown hamburger and onion in large skillet over medium heat.  Drain extra grease from skillet, then stir in onion soup mix, mustard, cheeses, salt, pepper and cabbage.  Cook for 5 minutes or until cheese has melted.  Meanwhile, preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Roll a piece of dough out on the counter.  Cut dough into squares that are about 5×5″.  Place a spoonful of meat filling onto dough and fold edges together to form a round bun.  Lay folded-side-down on a lightly greased 9×13″ baking sheet.  Repeat with remaining dough and filling.  Bake in preheated oven for 15 minutes or until golden brown.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

