Sunfloursweets's Blog

10/01/2009

Did You Know? 3.0

Filed under: Uncategorized — sunfloursweets @ 2:07 am

You are probably wondering why I have posted a YouTube video regarding the social networking craze on my cooking blog.  Well, honestly, I am doing this for a class, but social networking definitely impacts everyone’s lives- personally and professionally.  Currently, I am working on a research paper that looks at employers views of their employees using social networking websites as a form of communication within their business.  When my research is finished, I will be sure to share it with you!

This video clip is called Did You Know? 3.0.  I believe there are other versions out there, but I have chosen to discuss this one in particular.  One of the first statements in the video says that India has more honors kids than the U.S. has kids.  What does this mean?  It means we have to do better.  I hear it all the time- that the U.S. is far behind other countries in the academic world.  It is disappointing to know that we are the most powerful country in the world, yet we fall behind in education.  We CAN do better.  I would like to work in some facet of higher education when I graduate; I would like to make a difference. 

The other piece that really struck me was that we are currently preparing students for jobs that don’t yet exist.  As a senior in college, what I am learning this year will be out dated by 2012.  WHAT?!  Am I just paying for a good experience by going to college?  No, I have gained a lot from attending college, but it is intimidating to be thrown into this world right now.  Technology is always changing, but the way our society communicates now is an extreme difference from 10 years ago (and 10 years isn’t that long). 

There are 31 billion searches on Google every month.  Where did we go before Google?  I have grown up with computers (Barbie Fashion Designer was the greatest software EVER for a 2nd grade girl).  By the time I was old enough to be doing research, we had the internet.  I think there is a major difference in the way we think and the way we solve problems in my generation and my parents’ generation.  My generation expects a solution instantaneously and for the most part, the internet provides that solution.  This new technology is great- social networking, internet, iPods etc.; but is it making our society lazy?  Personally, I think it is. 

 What would we do without e-mail, facebook, text messaging?  Sure, we would get by, just like our grandparents did, but my generation has grown up with computers and we know no different.  I deactivated my facebook account 9 months ago and I have been getting along just fine!  The whole point of this video is to make us realize how much our world is changing; we must follow that change and take advantage of these awesome technologies.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

